home page Contact Us

Meeting Information
Meeting Makeups
President's Message
Officers & Directors
Club Members
Club History
Four Avenues of Service
Rubber Ducky Derby History
Photo Album
About Rotary
Becoming A Member
Useful Links
Contact Us
Site Map

For members...

Administration Login
Newsletter - Archive Sep 4, 2008
click to print this pageprint this page

September 2008 Club News



Club Schedule


September 3 - Tarrytown Boat Club 6:00pm until .....


September 10 - Marriott 12:00pm


September 17 - Marriorr 12:00pm


September 27  - Marriott 12:00pm














President's Message:


Dear Fellow Rotarians,
We begin another Rotary year guided by the successes of our past year and dedicated to doing better!   To that end, our District Governor, Eric Storberg made his official visit and pledged to help us achieve our lofty goals in any way he and the District are able.  Involvement of the membership is key to our success as well as key to retaining members.   If you have not already selected a committee upon which to serve, I urge you to do so as quickly as possible. Or else!  You may choose from-Community Service, Membership, Wine & Jazz, Duck Derby, International , Person of the Year and if you have a great idea and think a separate committee would be needed....let me know and it is yours!
    We received many sincere "Thank you's" from grant and scholarship recipients.  Among them, The Irvington Historical Society thanking us for a grant to support their 2008 Photography contest and an open invitation to see the latest exhibit "Those Who Served".  A "Thank You" from The Tarrytown Even Start Program for a grant to continue their literacy activities with new families to this country.   Several Breitbarth and Dave Bridges Award winners sent their thanks, citing the honor bestowed on them.  They are Clare Zegarelli, In-hye Erstling, Samantha Maffucci, Matt Vallo, Kayla Chulla, Anthony Hinds and John Bonname.
    It is certainly good to know that our grants and awards are truly appreciated.
Joe G.




Club News:   


Telephone Tree - Kris has distributed the telephone tree.  Please be sure to review and let her know if your contact information is not correct.  We use this in the event of an emergency or last minute club changes.


Committee Update:


If you haven't signed up for a committee, please do so ASAP.  See Joe or any of the chairs.  Following are our committee rosters so far.  There are still plenty of openings to be filled.


Community Service - Chair: Gerry Riera    Co-Chair: Margaret Black 


            Members: Dave Cartenuto, Janet Byelick, Jerry Barbelet, Stan Biloon, John Keels


International Service - Chair: Dave Cartenuto    Co-Chair:              


            Members: Joyce Stanton, Galina  P., Margaret Black, Norbert Fluhler, Jim McGough


Membership - Chair: David Holz    Co-Chair: Andres Valdespino  


             Members: Bill Burnette


Duck Derby - Co-Chairs:  Mimi Godwin, JoAnne Murray  




Fruit Sales - Chair: Gerry Barbelet    Co-Chair:
            Members: Norbert Fluhler 
Person of the Year - Co-Chairs: JoAnne Murray, Mimi Godwin, Joe Goscilo  

Wine And Jazz - Chair: Steve Byelick    Co-Chair:             


            Members: John Belluardo, Chip Wagner, Margaret Black, Jack Jolly


President & Past-President Installation


On June 18, 2008 our new President Joe Goscilo took office and Jack Jolley became our Past-President.  Former Past-Presidents Mimi Godwin and JoAnne Murray had the honors of presenting them with their pins during our meeting.  Jack Jolley also recognized several club members with certificates and gifts during this meeting for all their work and contributions during the past year. 




Boat Club Social:


It's always fun to breakaway from club business and at the end of July we did just that!  Everyone had a great time at the Tarrytown Boat Club as we relaxed by the river and listened to Jack's band.  Thanks to Jack Jolley, Joe Goscilo, John Belluardo and Kris Weltzheimer for putting this together.  And Bill Burnette for all his great photo's.  To see all the photo's from that night, visit the photo album on our website.





 Image Preview


September 1 - Caroline Hay

September 9 - David Cartenuto

October 7 - Miriam Frandsen

October 11 - Chip Wagner

October 12 - Gerry Riera

October 16 - John Doern